Southern Alberta Youth Range Days

 2022

More information coming soon!

Follow us on Facebook for updates!

 

History:

11 years ago thoughts were tossed around that grazing schools and field tours were great ....but what about the youth

Youth Range Days was born. 

Inspired by similar programs in the States, Southern Alberta Youth Range Days (YRDs) is a program for youth to learn and be inspired KF0_5019.jpgto promote stewardship of southern Alberta’s native working agricultural rangelands. YRDs program is a celebration of our western heritage, connecting the next generation to the people, knowledge, and skills that will help them better understand our connection to the land, water, and biodiversity. Youth Range Days locations rotate across southern Alberta, allowing the camp to be situated in different ecoregions of the prairies, offering a slightly different agenda each year. In addition to the core program, agenda items focus on local topics or guest speakers in order to highlight current events or people/areas of interest in that location.

YRDs is about making lasting memories of summer days spent in nature with good friends having fun learning new skills. 

Participants get to learn about:

  • Range and Riparian Health Assessments
  • Plant ID
  • Species at Risk
  • Stewardship

Previous Events:

2019: Grain Hall- County of Forty Mile

2018: Rangeview Ranch- Cardston County

2017: Goldspring Park- Warner County 

2016: Elkwater- Cypress County

2015: Kimball- Cardston County

2014: Aden - County of 40 Mile

2013: Elkwater- Cypress County

2012: Cardston County

 

Contact: youthrangedays@gmail.com

 

Planning Committee:

Allison Choquette allison@mrwcc.ca

Tim Romanow tim@mrwcc.ca

Tracy Kupchenko Tracy.Kupchenko@gov.ab.ca

Mickenzie Plemel m_plemel45@outlook.com

Stephen Bevans, Cardston County  stephen@cardstoncounty.com

Lee Moltzahn, NCC  Lee.Moltzahn@natureconservancy.ca

Julie Landry-Deboer, ACA  Julie.Landry-Deboer@gov.ab.ca

Adam Moltzahn, NCC adam.moltzahn@natureconservancy.ca

Tyler Eresman, MRWCC tyler@mrwcc.ca

Leta Pezderic, NCC Leta.Pezderic@natureconservancy.ca

Lisa Sulz, Cypress County Lisa.Sulz@cypress.ab.ca

Kennedy Roeder, Cypress County Kennedy.Roeder@cypress.ab.ca

Dwayne Rogness, County of Warner drogness@warnercounty.ca

 

Photos